Adam Goes To Camp

This summer, I have applied to be a counselor at a children’s camp in Prescott.  I signed up because I thought it would be a fun thing to do.  But after signing up, I realized that I had never been to a summer camp.

And not just that, I possess very few skills that would come in handy at camp.  I only know how to tie one type of knot.  I don’t know how to start a fire with elements found in nature.  Heck, I can hardly start a fire with a lighter.  I am not good at fishing and the only type of fort I know how to make involves pillows and blankets.

The only camp essential skill that I possess is that I like to eat s’mores.

In fact, my only real experience with camp is that I have watched Ernest Goes to Camp more than once.  Looking back on that movie, I started to wonder why a summer camp would hire Ernest, a clumsy, awkward, single male as a counselor.

As I thought about that I realized that I am going to be the Ernest of this camp.  Clumsy? Check. Awkward? Check. Excessive arm hair?  Oh wait, that one is just me.

Being the Ernest of the group can’t be that bad, can it?  After all, he does save the day at the end, doesn’t he?  Maybe I should re-watch that movie before I go to camp.

2 thoughts on “Adam Goes To Camp

    1. That’s a great point. If some kid tells me a spooky camp story, I can write to my parents and tell them I am scared and need to be picked up early, haha. Thanks Mrs. Barkyoumb!

Leave a Reply

