What Would We Do Without Spell Check?

For today’s Thankful Thursday I would like to talk about something that has become a great invention we can’t live without, but at the same time it is making me dumber.  And no, I am not talking about Honey Boo Boo.

Today I am thankful for spell check.

You see, I initially write each of my blog posts by pen into a notebook.  And as you may know, they have yet to come up with a notebook that corrects your spelling for you.  Come on Five Star (more like one star).  While writing these posts, I am constantly misspelling words.  Often, when I reread the posts, I can’t even guess at what I was trying to spell.  The other day I wrote “eggotasticul.”  When I wrote that, I was either really hungry for some waffles or I was trying to spell egotistical (or maybe both).

But I am not bothered by my bad spelling because I know that before I post it to the blog, spell check will have a look at it and catch all my mistakes.  Instead of trying to become a better speller, I am taking the easy way out and shifting more work onto spell check.  Sure, I could learn to spell words correctly, but why do that when I can let the computer fix it for me?

So thank you spell check.  Thanks for fixing my spelling and making me dumber.

One thought on “What Would We Do Without Spell Check?

Leave a Reply

