Happy 4th Of July!

Today I am thankful for America’s independence.

Can you imagine what life would be like if we were still under Great Britain’s rule?  One Direction would probably be playing non-stop on the radio, people would be constantly talking about Downton Abbey, and Harry Potter would be the most popular fictional character in the past 50 years.

Thank goodness for the Declaration of Independence.

Don’t get me wrong, there is plenty to like about the U.K.  Rickey Gervais, The I.T. Crowd and Wimbledon are some of my favorite things.  But there is something about living in a country where I can use the word “favorite” instead of “favourite” that just makes me happy.  Plus, I am not a fan of fish and chips.

On a serious note, I truly am proud to be an American.  I can’t imagine the courage it took to declare independence from Great Britain in 1776.  I am very thankful for those brave men and women who fought for our freedom.  And I am grateful for all the men and women who currently serve in the Armed Forces and fight for our continued freedom today.

Despite its very poor grammar, Proud to be an American by Lee Greenwood said it best, “‘Cause there ain’t no doubt I love this land, God bless the U.S.A.”

Happy 4th of July!  I hope you all enjoy fireworks, baseball and a barbeque today.

Leave a Reply

