Does that C have a tail?

If you stop and think about it, letters are kinda funny. Who came up with the designed for them? Did he or she just start making squiggly lines and then naming them? I am guessing that “O” was one of the first that letter inventors came up with.

Another thing, why complicate things by having an upper and lowercase?? Sometimes the capital letter looks nothing like the lower case equivalent. Take a capital G for instance.

Someone who is really good with words is called a wordsmith. Does that make someone who is good with letters, a lettersmith?

I am by no means a lettersmith. Just the other day, I saw a letter that I have never seen before. I thought I knew all 26 letters, but I guess I was wrong.

I was reading and came across the word façade. Look at that word. What’s going on with that C? It looks like it is leaking some letter fluid or something.

That got me wondering, what is that mark below the “ç” in façade?

Apparently I am not the only one who has asked that question because there are quite a few results when searching for the answer. Here is what they say:

The letter is used in French and other languages and is called a C-cedilla. The cedilla is the squiggly part. Cedillas can appear under other letters too.

If that is true, then how come I have never seen it under any other letters before? I guess it is probably because I don’t read French very often.

On a side note, am I the only one who read the word C-cedilla and got hungry for a quesadilla?

One thought on “Does that C have a tail?

  1. That was very interesting and I do not think I have ever noticed a cedilla before. How is camp, did Ernest give you some good info for being a happy camper? When you get back come for dinner and we will have some quesadillas!!! Love you

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

