Wake Up Call

Today I am thankful for wake up calls.

But I’m not talking about the ones you arrange for that can ruin a great nights sleep in a hotel.

I’m talking about something that smacks you in the face with some perspective and gets you to see clearly during a time when you really need it.

Recently I given such a wake up call during a time when I was feeling sorry for myself.

Thanks to a couple of knee surgeries my athletic career didn’t play out quite like I would have drawn up. Every now and then I start to wonder what if.

What if I hadn’t gotten hurt in high school? What if I was just a little taller? What if? What if? What if?

Right when I was in the middle of my what-ifs, someone (unaware of my self pity) sent me a link to the following video about Richie Parker, a man who overcame being born without arms to become a chassis and body component designer for Hendrick Motorsports.

Watching that video made my little knee pain not seem so important anymore.

My self pity shrunk and my gratitude grew.

I know that I am very blessed and thankfully it seems like every time I start to feel bad for myself I am given a wake up call.

Leave a Reply

