Real Artists Ship

“Real artists ship.”

That is a great quote from Steve Jobs and it has nothing to do with finger painting or mailing a letter.

When Jobs said it, he meant that whenever you create something, it is important to deliver that something to a someone (he put it much better than I just did).

We all have a friend who is super creative and has great ideas, but always waits and waits to make those creations perfect.

That friend constantly misses deadlines or pushes back meetings because their ideas are never quite perfect enough.

They are afraid to ship.

Steve Jobs was super creative but was ultra successful because he was not afraid to ship.

He could have worked non-stop on his Apple products, always trying to make them perfect, but that would do him no good unless he produced something that would eventually be delivered to users.

French writer Voltaire summed up this idea when he said, “Don’t let perfect be the enemy of good.”

If you spend all your time trying to be perfect, you will never be successful because no one will ever see it.

Author Jon Acuff puts it another way when he says, “90 percent of perfect and shared with the world always changes more lives than 100 percent perfect and stuck in your head.”

As I said in my first post of this year, the theme of the 2014 New Year’s eve ball is “the gift of imagination.”

We all can use our gifts of imagination to do some amazing things. But it does no good to keep those ideas stuck in our imagination.

Real artists ship.

2 thoughts on “Real Artists Ship

  1. Thank you for a great post. I am an artist who is afraid. I must admit I develop more confidence with each painting. I would like to add one more point to your post. If you feel there is something missing or it isn’t good enough, take a class to learn new skills. I am and I hope it improves my confidence even more to where I can clearly say I AM GOOD!!!

Leave a Reply

