If This Is True, Why Am I Not Albert Einstein?

As I have mentioned before on this blog, I have a terrible memory. I can’t remember names, stories from my past or historical events.  There are only two things that I am good at remembering:

1)Where NBA players went to college

2)The theme song from The Fresh Prince of Bel Air

I used to think this lack of memory was hurting my intelligence, but now, thanks to new research, I realize that it may be making me a genius.

A Science Alert article with the title Forgetting Things Could Actually Be Making You Smarter  makes the following statement:

bouts of forgetfulness could be caused by a safety mechanism in the brain designed to make sure we’re not overloaded with information. In other words, it’s a healthy part of the brain’s operation.”

The research suggests that our brains may actually want us to have a poor memory. By forgetting we let go of memories we don’t need which can help us adjust to new situations. Forgetting also allows us to make decisions about new events by generalizing past events.

Blake Richards, a researcher from the University of Toronto in Canada, says,

If you’re trying to navigate the world and your brain is constantly bringing up multiple conflicting memories, that makes it harder for you to make an informed decision.”

This is great, except for the fact that I have both a terrible memory and a hard  time making informed decisions. Thanks a lot, brain.

If you are interested in the entire article, you can check it our here.

Leave a Reply

